Driving under the influence, also known as a DUI. Under California Vehicle Code Sections 23152 the drive of a motor vehicle can be charged with a DUI if that driver operated a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs and/or drove with a .08 or higher blood alcohol content.
The penalty of a first time DUI, without any priors in the past ten years, is up to $1,000 in fines and additional penalties, up to six months in jail, driver’s license suspension for four months and the first conviction program. Depending on your BAC, you may also be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle.
For second offenses, the penalty is at a leas 96 hours in county jail, completion of the 18 month multiple conviction program, installation of ignition interlock device, driver’s license suspension for at least one year.
If the DUI results in any injury to another person, the driver of the motor vehicle may be charged with DUI Causing Injury under California Vehicle Code 23153 (a), a felony.
The penalty for a felony DUI may include
If you have been charged with a DUI, you must request a DMV hearing within the first 10 days of your contact with law enforcement. Not doing so can result in an automatic license suspension.
See changes on PDF
ALL PRACTICE AREA
FREE CASE EVALUATION
Ezquerro Is a Dedicated Violent Crime Lawyer Here to Help You If You Are in Need!
If you are involved in an assault and battery case where you know you acted with no criminal intent or desire to offend, you need to have a criminal defense attorney who is well-versed with assault and battery laws and can expertly defend you.
Please reach out today to Ezquerro if you need a seasoned criminal defense attorney to see your assault and/or battery case through.
© COPYRIGHTS 2023 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED